ISTR New Scholars’ Prize

ISTR New Scholars’ Prize
Irish Society for Theatre Research
New Scholar’s Prize 2015
Call for Papers
ISTR runs an annual essay competition for New Scholars. There is no set theme for this competition; rather, candidates are encouraged to submit work drawing on their current research. New research, or essays developed from papers presented at the preceding conference are welcome. The New Scholars’ Prize is awarded to the best essay, judged on originality, coherence and rigour.
Essays must be between 4 000 – 6 000 words (excluding bibliography) and should not be published or submitted for publication in advance of the award announcement. Candidates should submit entries in English electronically as an e-mail attachment. They will be judged anonymously; hence, the author’s name must not appear anywhere in the essay itself. All submissions must be accompanied by a cover sheet, must be presented with attention to correct spelling and stylistics and referenced according to a standard norm (i.e. MLA or Chicago style). Send entries, preferably in Word format, to the Convenor of the Prize Committee, Dr Ondřej Pilný, Charles University, Prague at
Eligibility: A New Scholar is defined as a graduate student, post-doctoral researcher whose PhD has been completed less than three years ago, or a researcher without a PhD who has been in an academic post for less than three years. Membership of ISTR is not necessary to enter the competition, but prize winners will need to join ISTR to attend the conference where the prize will be awarded.
Deadline: 1 March 2015. The judges for the New Scholars Prizes in 2015 are Dr Ondřej Pilný, Charles University, Prague; Dr Fiona Fearon, IT Dundalk; and Dr. Sharon Phelan, IT Tralee. A final Guest Adjudicator will be appointed to select from the shortlisted essays at a later date. Previous final adjudicators included Prof. Marvin Carlson, Prof. Helen Burke and Prof. Lionel Pilkington.
Results of the competition will be announced at the next ISTR conference at the Institute of Technology Tralee (22-23 May 2015).